The Zuni Cafe Cookbook


Continuing my mission of blogging about cookbooks I’d like to add an entry for one of my old favorites: The The Zuni Cafe Cookbook.  Zuni Cafe is another San Francisco institution though not one that too many people outside the area know about.

This was one of the first cookbooks I bought in my adult life and it is full of amazing recipes and tips.  It just helps you cook better in more ways than I can detail quickly.  When do you salt and how much should you salt?  How do you make classics like Caesar salad and staples like Chicken stock properly?  And of course how do you make the classic Zuni Chicken with bread salad which alone is worth the price of the book, seriously.  Here are a few things that I have enjoyed…

Pickled Onions

Grilled Radicchio

Asparagus and Rice Soup

Gougeres

Shrimp with Romesco

Zuni Chicken and Bread Salad

Zuni Burger

Standing Rib Roast

Mock Porchetta

Scones

To name just a few.  I can’t recommend this books enough.

6 Comments

Filed under Cookbooks, Cooking, Food

6 responses to “The Zuni Cafe Cookbook

  1. I’ve never made a bread salad. I need to! I love how you pick such tempting recipes and list them to peak interest.

    • You are in for a treat if you try it. I think it is a great entertaining dish. Glad you like the highlights. Figured people would like to know about dishes that have been tried and enjoyed.

  2. Hi. For ten years, I lived in San Francisco and enjoyed the Zuni Cafe on many occasions. Your are right in the sense that the restaurant is incredible but not known by many outside of the city. I haven’t been to SF in years, is Zuni even still there? I will need to get this cookbook. The recipes you highlight sound great and it will also be nice to have a memento from my treasured SF experience. Thanks for the post. Come over and visit us sometime at http://www.acornsonglen.com.

    • I confess I have only eaten at the actual restaurant twice but it is still there and the book allows you to cook things just as well which is great. Thanks for the comment I will have to check out your blog!

  3. Pingback: Smokey Chicken with Fireplace Bread | joshuafagans

  4. Pingback: A Family Affair | joshuafagans

Leave a comment