Notes From Europe

Work sent me to Germany. I was attending a conference for most of the time though I did have a bit of time to kick around downtown a bit. On the advice of a colleague I took a side trip to Strasbourg after my professional duties were complete. If you are ever anywhere nearby I have to wholeheartedly recommend a stop.

Strasbourg is the largest city in the Alsace region of France. The historic downtown part of the city is actually an island in the middle of a canal system and is just wonderful to walk around and take in though I did find out the hard way that most of it is closed on Sundays.

One exception we Le Mains Dans La Farine which was opened for a few hours Sunday morning. I purchased a Croissant de Chocolate which was much lighter on the butter and the chocolate than I am used to. Quite wonderful.

Despite not knowing French (my German did get me through Cologne) my singularly biggest issue was not being able to eat all the different things I wanted to try.

I wasn’t sure I was going to make it to France until the last minute so I really didn’t have any plans. The only tip I had was Cooking in Sens who recommended Au Dauphin.  They were full Saturday night and turned me away but I returned undaunted for lunch on Sunday.

I ordered up the Menu du Terroir or regional menu which was definitely very traditional and a good intro to Alsatian cuisine.

I had a lot of fun and hope to get back and sample the other local delicacies like the tarte flambée but it is also nice to be home. After recovering from jet lag I spent the weekend stocking the larder with chicken stock and tomato sauce. Hope you are all well.

4 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

4 responses to “Notes From Europe

  1. Nice post. It’s one of life’s enigmas. It’s hard to find a good French restaurant in France:)

  2. Welcome home! We are getting ready to head out to Germany and Alsace is always a lovely place for day trips. It never disappoints and is one of our favorite places to visit.

  3. Sounds like you made the most of the short time you had. Great pics!

  4. Deb

    The sky is incredible in the first picture!!!!! The food doesn’t look bad
    either. ;^)

Leave a Reply

