Double Trouble (aka how to trick kids into cooking)

A few years ago Buy Rite ice cream opened up in San Francisco. The flavor that got the most excitement was salted caramel. As soon as I tried it I knew I had to figure out how to make it at home. The trouble was the salt in the recipe lowered the freezing temperature. My ice cream maker (the kind you put in the freezer) churned its heart out but could only deliver slush. So, of course, I “needed” a freezer with its own compressor. The problem was I was never satisfied with the results! And so every now and again I would pull the machine out and try again but it was always the same: icy texture.

 Recently both Buy Rite and Humphrey Slocombe (another local ice cream place) came out with cookbooks. It was time to try again. This time I had a thought. What if I let the ice cream maker get fully cold before I started? When it was good and frosted up I poured the base in (which had spent 10-20 minutes in the freezer) and viola perfect texture! Why the instructions don’t tell you to do this I don’t know but please, let your machine get good and cold before you pour!


Of course I needed to make a lot of ice cream to practice. I thought it would be fun to have the kids each pick a flavor and then help me make it. Connor chose Mint Chocolate Chip and Annabelle chose White Chocolate Raspberry. It is interesting to note that I would not have personally chosen either of these but they were both fantastic! And what do you do with all those egg white? How about homemade ice cream cones made in a Pizzelle machine!

You can find the recipe for the salted caramel ice cream here at Serious Eats although I will say that unlike the poster I always use the dry caramel method. I would also recommend the Buy Rite ice cream cookbook. I have yet to be disappointed!

 

15 Comments

Filed under Cookbooks, Cooking, Family, Food, Tips

15 responses to “Double Trouble (aka how to trick kids into cooking)

  1. I love the cones and the pizzelle machine, the like of which I have not seen before. Caramel sel de mer is one of the main flavours in our region. The finest sea salt has been made on the Ile de Re since Roman times, and the same pans are still in use.

    • My wife has fond memories of making pizzelle with her Italian step mother so the machine was added to our arsenal at some point. It was her idea to use it as a cone mold. It was perfect (with some practice)!

  2. What can I say – ice cream!
    You almost tricked me into “cooking” up a batch.
    Then I realized it involved, how do I say this, work!
    For now, I’ll get my mint chocolate chip, already prepared.
    A fun post Josh – thanks for sharing.

  3. Terri

    Totally yummy! Rachel loved the white chocolate raspberry and the mint was my favorite.

  4. Okay…how awesome are those cones?! I love them! My kids would have loved the flavors yours picked. And I just love your persistence with getting recipes just right. 🙂

  5. Excellent tips for making ice cream! You always have excellent posts Joshua!

  6. I’ve been making ice cream a lot recently, after not making it for years. I’ve been dreaming about salted caramel and wondering how best to do it. Now I’ll give it a go. I’m confused about the beginning of your post-did you not put your ice cream maker in the freezer before you started? Oh- and your pizzelle cones are gorgeous!

    • I have one of the self refrigerating ones (i.e. it has its own compressor) so you don’t put it in the freezer. I had, however, put the base in when I plugged it in and it takes a good ten minutes to get down to temp without anything inside. This led to really uneven and icy results. Also, I had trouble getting salted caramel to work in the kind of ice cream maker you put in the freezer first since I just couldn’t get it cold enough to freeze it.

  7. Lovely! Those pizzelle cones look as delicious as the ice cream – quite a feat!

Leave a Reply

