Facing Your Demons

Every cook seems to have them.  There may be a good reason for one or perhaps it is just fear of the unknown for another.  I’m talking about demons of course.  In particular cooking demons.  A friend of mine had the same demon and her courage encouraged me to face one of mine: artichokes.  I’ve never been particular keen on working with artichokes.  Their thorny demeanor coupled with their extensive prep time and predisposition to turn an unsightly gray seemed enough to focus on other foods.  I resolved to keep turning artichokes this season until the demon had been excised.  For the most part I’ve been sous-viding them with herbs, lemon and olive oil.  They are quick to cook that way and taste great.  This week I decided to go for broke and attempt a version I had recently at a restaurant called Locanda here in San Francisco.  In truth the meal was not as good as I had hoped but it did start with what they call a Jewish Style Artichoke and it was amazing.  This is a recipe that apparently traces back to Jewish cooking in Rome but really it is a fancy way of saying deep fried artichokes.  And the frying happens in olive oil.

The recipe is simple enough, clean your artichokes as usual.  Mine were excellent ones from Fat Cabbage Farm.  I tried to open the “blossom” a bit with my fingertips by pulling outward and then dropped them into some iced, acidulated water.  I then heated some olive oil for frying.  Because it is so expensive I opted to only go about one to one and half inches deep and to cut the artichokes in half but they are traditionally served whole.  Before I cut them I placed them top down on the cutting board and pushed to spread them open even further.  The olive oil was a bit too hot when I put them in but I just fried them until I could pierce them very easily and put them out to drain.  I then sprinkled some salt and lemon on them and my wife and I ate them before they cooled.  The leaves taste like nutty potato chips and have this wonderful crunchy texture.  The inside is meaty artichoke all the way.  Excellent.  Give them a try!

In other news I am doing well.  Apologies for not writing in so long but work and life have been getting in the way.  The garden is looking great with the help of some early warm weather. I have planted eighteen tomato plants which I will probably regret later but so far I’m only excited. Seven are for sauce. I call them “the girls” since I usually plant early girls for this.  This year I subbed in a couple “valley girls.”  How can you pass on a name like that? I am trying a new growing technique for these which is to grown them up a string that you can lower as the season progresses.

I’ll let you know how that goes. So far signs are good.

8 Comments

Filed under Cooking, Family, Food, Gardening

8 responses to “Facing Your Demons

  1. Way to go facing your demons. Mine is anything to do with yeast. I’m getting there though – baby steps. 🙂 Gorgeous garden shots too Joshua.

    • Thanks. Yeah we are very happy with the garden. We recently added two nice comfy chairs and an umbrella just so we can sit out an enjoy it. Now we will have to figure out how to work on this yeast thing…

  2. Good on you and so nice to see a post from you again.
    🙂 Mandy

  3. The garden shot looks very peaceful and beautiful, and I love artichokes cooked alla Guidea. They are a summer treat to which I look forward each year.

  4. Good to see you again. The garden and the dish look amazing.

  5. Nice to see you blogging again. I have had fried artichokes in Italy and they were all cut in half like yours. The garden looks good. I’ll be interested to see how you like the string method on the tomatoes.

Leave a Reply

