Happy New Year!

We managed to run away to wine country for a couple of nights (my son’s idea!).  I was up early the first morning with the kids grabbing our traditional morning pastries from the Bouchon Bakery when I spotted a hot air balloon rising into the air.  Then I saw a second behind some trees.  A few moments later the three of us were on a balloon chase.  We quickly found the field they were taking off from and then tagged along as they floated through the crisp, early Napa Valley morning.

We finally caught one landing in a beautiful park above the western edge of Napa and watched as they came to rest on the ground and then stowed the balloon away.  The kids and I had a blast on the small, spur of the moment adventure.

While were in town I was able to meet up with some of the amazing cooks I worked with while on my cooking adventure.  They continue to be inspirational for me and I have started to plot a return ;).  Somehow the more you learn the more you are ready to learn.  There are always ways to improve your cooking.  Having had some time to digest the lessons from my last trip I have begun to realize how I might be able to use a second trip to improve even more.  That trip was the inspiration that also started this blog earlier this year.  A big thanks to all of you who have joined me on this journey.  I continue to be amazed by the online blogging community and humbled by the number of people that stop by mine from all corners of the world.  Happy New Year everybody!

 

10 Comments

Filed under Family, Food, Napa

10 responses to “Happy New Year!

  1. Happy to be taken on your journey and looking forward to next year! (ps photos don’t upload… the content is blocked by owner… no prob if that’s what you intended:) but if not, I’d love to see your chase!

  2. Wonderful pictures and lots of great stuff this year. Here’s to 2012.

  3. I look forward to more of your cooking adventures in 2012 – Happy New Year

  4. What a delight to follow the balloons. I too look forward to your culinary adventures in 2012. Happy New Year!

  5. Happy New Year! I’m looking forward to your 2012 adventures. Your birthday still pops up in my head. It was just fabulous! And I love that your son suggested the weekend to wine country. Too cute!

  6. Happy New Year – have a fantastic year! I am looking forward to more of your magnificent cooking and adventures.
    🙂 Mandy

Leave a Reply

