How cool is that (aka Panini Girl Rules)!

I once had an amazing trip to Italy during which my affection for Italian food was cemented.  It should then come as no surprise that Panini Girl is one of the blogs that I follow.  She too loves traveling to Italy and even arranges culinary adventures there .  Not too long ago (actually an embarrassing amount of time ago) she ran a competition on her blog to give away a copy of The Glorious Pasta of Italy by Domenica Marchetti.  To win all you had to do was leave a comment which I typically do though I admit I crossed my fingers when I did it that day ;).  Anyway, I won the book and before long it showed up in my mailbox (again weird when digital world intersects real world) followed closely by a signature from Ms Marchetti herself!  How cool is that and what an amazing idea to give away a cookbook on a cooking blog.  That may be happening around here soon 😉 I hope she hasn’t patented the idea.

I haven’t gotten a chance to try any recipes in part because this year’s school year has taken some getting used to and because my big auction dinner have been curbing my extra curricular activities but I have been avidly reading this book and am very excited.  Look for some attempts soon!

While you wait above is a recent dish I made largely following this great post from a different blog from Tales of Ambrosia (the entry is definitely worth a read).  The big tip is to pull the pasta from the water while it is “al dente plus” and finish cooking it in the sauce for a lot longer than I typically have been doing.  This makes for a creaminess which is just plain amazing.  Can’t wait to see what surprises my new cookbook has.  Thank you so much Panini Girl!

11 Comments

Filed under Cookbooks, Cooking, Food

11 responses to “How cool is that (aka Panini Girl Rules)!

  1. Doesn’t it just make your day when you win something?! Congrats! Can’t wait to see what you come up with.

  2. Gian Banchero

    I bought the book three months ago… Stellar!!!!

  3. Oh, I loved that recipe. Have fun with the new book!

  4. I look forward to hearing about all the dishes you cook from this great book-enjoy!

  5. Way cool!
    Looking forward to you sharing a few recipes from the book.
    Have a happy day.
    🙂 Mandy

  6. Oh!! I need to check that book out! I visited the blog Panini girl and it is awesome!!! And thanks for the metion!! I am truly honored!!!!

Leave a Reply

