Perfect Simplicity

Sunday is market day.  My brother, who is town with his wife accompanied me.  We were loaded down pretty well when we came to one of my favorite stands, Coke Farm.  It’s been a cool summer here so many things are quite late this year.  My eyes were drawn to some small melons they had in a basket.  “What are these,” I asked lifting one.    “Charentais,” was the reply.  I will never forget it.  I picked one up and smelled it.  Who-ah!  They were perfectly ripe and smelled a lot like cantaloupe, only better.  There was also strawberry and a bit of flowers.  I think I swooned.

Ever since I had a large plate of melon draped with prosciutto in Bologna this combo is something I look forward to every year.  It is incredibly simple to make but when you get a perfectly ripe melon and pair it with some cured pork it is about as good as it gets.  And I am not sure I’ve had a finer melon than a perfectly ripe Charentais.  I’d recommend seeking them out.  Barring that find a perfectly ripe cantaloupe, sit back, and enjoy.

10 Comments

Filed under Cooking, Food

10 responses to “Perfect Simplicity

  1. Absolutely perfect simplicity!
    Have a happy week.
    🙂 Mandy

  2. perfect simplicity indeed!

  3. That looks marvelous! I am alwasy for prosciutto e melone!! Try it with figs..I guess you can get gorgeous ones in California!

  4. That melon must have been great with the prosciutto. Simple let’s both products shine through.

  5. Wowzer! That looks amazing! I am sitting here now pining for melon and prosciutto!

  6. My mouth is watering! I bought one of those melons this week at the market too, but I’m out of prosciutto…

Leave a Reply

