Simple Touches

When I entertain I like to have some things out to snack on when guests arrive.  I am always on the lookout for something new and ran across this recipe for herbed olives as I am reading through “Around My French Table.”  Yes, it’s true, I read cookbooks like many people read novels.  I really like olives but sometimes they can be a bit harsh.  A marinade is a great way to mellow them out and add more dimensions to to the flavor.  I’ve tried a few recipes for this before but this one really does the trick for me.

Herbed Olive Guidelines (inspired by “around My French Table”)

2 c olives
extra virgin olive oil
several rosemary sprigs
several thyme sprigs
1/4 tsp fennel seeds (or your spice of choice)
1/4 tsp peppercorns
3 garlic cloves, peeled
2 bay leaves
dried chile
several strips lemon zest

Toast the spices in a small skillet over medium heat until fragrant.  Set aside.  Heat 1/4 – 1/3 c olive oil in the pan over med-low heat with all the ingredients until warm (you will see some bubbles at the edges of the garlic).  Put the olives in a heat proof container, preferably something taller and narrower.  Pour the olive oil mixture over and then add more oil to cover the olives.  It is best to let this marinate overnight but at least try to give it a few hours.

12 Comments

Filed under Cookbooks, Cooking, Food

12 responses to “Simple Touches

  1. These are beautiful. I made herbed olives for a party once and no one ate them. This was even better because I had leftovers! I’ll have to use your recipe next time, maybe that was the problem!

  2. Olives need to be herbed.. Absolutely!! This post flashes me back to Sicily, where they marinate olives with herbs and spices!

  3. I had never tried spices before. I really like what fennel brings to the party.

  4. I love your blog. Beautiful pictures. And you MUST check out Omnivore Books sometime soon!

  5. My husband would love these. Me, not so much. But he would adore them. He ate a ton of olives on our honeymoon during happy hour at the tiki bar. 🙂 Brings back fun memories.

  6. Ooh I do love this idea!
    🙂 Mandy

  7. Olives looks great! So, are you liking that cookbook? I was thisclose to buying it the other day, but have not pulled the trigger yet.

    • It’s funny, I got it on a lark since I had to use some Border’s gift cards before they disappeared. I hadn’t actually heard of it before and had some reservations but have to say I am very much enjoying it. I haven’t cooked quite enough to wholeheartedly recommend it but so far so god!

  8. I love marinated olives and yours look great. It was strange that your guests didn’t try them but that just means more for you. The flavor gets better the longer they are in the oil so you will reap all the benefits.

  9. Pingback: How do you make a $1000 dinner? | joshuafagans

  10. Pingback: Cookbooks | joshuafagans

Leave a Reply

