6 Days Later…

I started checking the pickling progress at three days.  At three days they were still very crunchy and tasted mostly of cucumber.  At five days they were getting close and were what I would call half pickles.  Today, day six, they are starting to lose their crunch but have nice pickle flavor.  Not quite as garlicky and dilly (is that a word?) as I would have expected but definitely pickles.  Note that the brine does turn cloudy.  It’s okay, really.  I will be enjoying these with some friends tonight.  If all goes well I will take some photos of the desert I made as well.

10 Comments

Filed under Cooking, Food

10 responses to “6 Days Later…

  1. kat

    I love pickles! What a great idea! Thanks for sharing! I’m new to blogging and love that there is a foodie community! If you have time, please check out my blog: http://shecooksandheeats.wordpress.com/. And of course! Any advice would be great 🙂

    • I’m pretty darn new to blogging myself so I will not presume to offer any advice although I will say I love the name! Glad you found my blog and thanks for the comment!

  2. Oh those are looking good. OK, it’s cloudy I have to use my Xray vision and imagination. But I know they’re good.

  3. I’m used to the much smaller cornichons that we eat with rillettes, but these look excellent.

  4. Hmm, wonder why the brine goes cloudy – no matter, the pickles look great and I am sure dilly is a word – must be surely.
    🙂 Mandy

  5. Nice. My father used to make pickles like this and they were delicious. Keep us posted on what your friends thought.

  6. I admire your self-discipline. I would have eaten them all by now.

  7. My wife made some homemade pickles last year and they were outstanding. After seeing your post I think I’ll have to con her into making another batch. 🙂 Cheers!

Leave a Reply

