Got dill?

I made an executive decision to not plant squash in the garden this year.  I’m a bit tired of the plants taking over our limited garden space, especially since I can find good squash like romanesca and zephyr at the market.  I picked up a load not knowing what I was going to do with it until I saw the dill leftover from my pickles.  Squash and dill are a great combo.  I thought pairing that with some goat cheese I had on hand would make for a great side and I have to say I was right!

Squash with dill and goat cheese

Assorted fresh squash sliced into 1/2 inch slices
Chopped dill
Crumbled chevre
Salt and pepper to taste
Olive oil

Sprinkle the sliced squash generously with salt and pepper.  Pour some olive oil on and toss to coat well and let sit while you get your grill going.  Grill the squash over medium-high grill until nicely browned and cooked through.  Cut the slices into a few pieces and toss with the dill tasting to check for seasoning.  Place the contents in an oven proof container and crumble goat cheese on top to taste.  Place under a broiler and carefully brown the cheese then serve.

11 Comments

Filed under Cooking, Food

11 responses to “Got dill?

  1. Since I don’t grow it, I don’t use dill as often. (It’s just easier to grab what’s on the porch or in the yard.) I made the executive decision to plant squash late this year and am hoping it takes hold. Will cross my fingers that I can try out your idea with squash from my garden.

  2. I do have dill! And I don’t have squash for similar reasons. I like this combination.

  3. This looks great! I love recipes that use up left over bits of good spices. I’m very fond of dill.
    Great post.

  4. Sounds great. Like the combination a lot.

  5. I have fresh zucchini, dill and goat cheese. I was planning to make the zucchini for dinner tonight but wasn’t sure exactly what I would do with it. I was thinking something with the goat cheese would be good. I’m going to try this! Can’t wait!

Leave a Reply

