You say souffle I say sformato

One of the things I did not know about before I went to Italy was sformato.  When I was in the Bologna region a lot of meals started with these light custards, usually featuring vegetables, and they were delicious.  You don’t hear so much about them in the states but that should change!  So when I brought the morning’s garden harvest in and thought about the other things on hand I thought sformato.  This may be a bit west coast to count as a sformato but my heart was in the right place :).

Grilled Squash Sformato

5 medium sliced squash sliced 1/4 thick and roasted in oven with olive oil
Several handfuls of garden greens sauteed
Several shallots sliced and sauteed
2 c bechamel
4 oz goat cheese
1/3 c grated parmeggiano
3 eggs separated
2 egg yolks

In this case the greens were cavalo nero and radish greens that I sauteed quickly.  The squash was roasted in a 350 oven for about 30 minutes and then sliced into matchsticks.  I mixed everything together whipping the egg whites and folding them in in two batches.  Put the mixture into prepared ramekins (butter and flour) and baked in a water bath for 30 – 45 minutes until a cake tester comes out clean.  Allow to cool a bit and then savor.

10 Comments

Filed under Cooking, Food, Gardening

10 responses to “You say souffle I say sformato

  1. Your sformato look great.
    🙂 Mandy

  2. Those look wonderful and look at the bounty from your garden!

  3. Oh my! this looks amazing!

  4. looks like something i’ll definitely try

  5. I love sformato-last year after being in Piemonte I had to come home and try to recreate one I had eaten there. Yours look great!

  6. Wow the bounty from your garden is unbelievable. Gorgeous pic they of the basket & Sformato. Usually make more a sweet custard but love this savory version! Beautiful.

Leave a Reply

