Nobody doesn’t like Saralee

This is a wine or at least a winery that people should be able to find.  Joseph Swan is one of ye olde California wineries and if you ever see a Pinot saying they use the Swan clone, yup Swan was one of the first Pinot producers in the state.  If you haven’t been, I would definitely recommend a visit to this unpretentious winery just off River Road outside Santa Rosa.  This is a 2006 Saralee Vineyard Pinot Noir.  The color is an amazing light brick red with a hint of brown on the edge showing a touch of age.  The nose is just wonderful.  To be sure there is cherry and strawberry but there is a lot more including hints of cinnamon and black licorice.  Quite complex and a joy to smell.  On the palate there are berries with currants now and the licorice persists into the finish.  To me a very nice wine for $25.  I definitely recommend it.

4 Comments

Filed under California Wine, Pinot Noir, Russian River, Sonoma, Wine, Wine tasting, Winery

4 responses to “Nobody doesn’t like Saralee

  1. That’s just the best title! (Your blog post that is.:)

  2. Going to give this one a try. I just got my fourth bottle of Wind Gap Syrah and need to try them first, but no reason why I can’t build my wine arsenal. I’ll let you know what I think. I’m out to break my California Chardonnay addiction this summer and these are good wines to try and do it with.

Leave a comment