Midweek survival (aka Zuni chicken dinner kit)

Tuesday night dinner’s are midweek survival dinners here.  The bounty that is the weekend in the kitchen has faded and something must be cooked up for dinner.  This week I did some prep on Monday night as I reheated some leftovers.  One of the biggest things I noticed about the professional kitchen is that any spare time can be used to prep for the future.  So I salted and peppered a chick (ala Zuni Cafe cookbook more on that another time) 3/4 tsp salt per pound of chicken with fresh pepper and rosemary to taste.  Sprinkle and rub all over.  I then trussed it.  Then I sliced up some small yellow potatoes and sprinkled with salt, pepper, rosemary, and olive oil.  I put the potatoes in a cast iron skillet, covered with plastic wrap and then put the chicken on a plate in plastic wrap on top of that.  Instant dinner kit!  I had my wife pull it from the fridge one hour before cooking and into a preheated oven set to 400 (plastic wrap and plate removed of course).  The chicken (around three pounds) cooked for about an hour with half the time spent breast down.  The potatoes got the juices and browned into deliciousness.  Only problem with the evil plan is that the potatoes were so good there are none left for tomorrow!

10 Comments

Filed under Cooking, Food

10 responses to “Midweek survival (aka Zuni chicken dinner kit)

  1. I love pre-preparing too. What a great looking one pot meal – it’s difficult to beat the flavours of a good roast bird an spuds.
    🙂 Mandy

  2. Such a great idea. Those potatoes look good. I can see why they went fast. I try to do prep wife for my wife when I know she’ll be cooking. She doesn’t need me to, I just like doing it. You’re on a blogging tear!

  3. I heart the Zuni Cafe cookbook.

  4. Roast chicken is our weekday survival meal as well. It’s a winner.

  5. That looks absolutely amazing!
    It is so kind of you to do prep work for your wife …I should email this to my husband 🙂

  6. Prepped this last night and I will be cooking it up tomorrow night. Dessert will be the oranges with rosemary honey from the same cookbook.

Leave a Reply

