Sunday Suppers At Lucques

One thing I don’t seem to see enough of on blogs is cookbook recommendations.  I’ve never quite understood this so I’m going to advocate for change by talking about my favorite cookbooks.  Quite possibly my most trusted is Sunday Suppers at Lucques.  I don’t think I have ever been disappointed with something I cooked from these pages.  It is the style of food I like to eat and cook and the recipes are definitely written for success.  The book is organized by season which I always appreciate as pretty much cook according to the season.  Recipes I’ve enjoyed include:

summer fruit salad with arugula and marcona almonds

wild mushroom salad with herbs, pecorino, and hazlenuts

apples and asian pears with radicchio salad and buttermilk dressing

blood oranges, dates, parmesan salad with almonds

kobocha squash and fennel soup

summer squash gratin

braised beef short ribs

bistecca California

fig and almond custard tart

date butter tart

I highly recommend this book if you are an avid cookbook reader like me.  More pleasant dinner parties than I can count started by cracking this book open.  Hope you give it a shot.

6 Comments

Filed under Cookbooks, Cooking, Food

6 responses to “Sunday Suppers At Lucques

  1. That fig tart sounds great! I know of two blogs that regularly feature cookbooks and I’m drawing a blank on one. This one is really good, she uses recipes from various sources http://cookbookshelf.wordpress.com/. The next time I run across one I’ll get you the link.

  2. Thanks for the link I will check it out! Yeah the fig tart is great and almost in season.

  3. I agree – this is a wonderful cookbook, and we should blog more about cookbooks! Thanks for the inspiration.

  4. I LOVE this book! You have to try the bread pudding made with brioche-amazing.

  5. Pingback: How do you make a $1000 dinner? | joshuafagans

Leave a Reply

