Market Dinner

I’ve been going to to the Menlo Park farmers’ market for more years than I can recall.  I typically prepare a dinner that we call “Market Dinner” from the various things I find.  A tradition that is almost as regular is the fact that it takes me longer than I expect to finish :).  This week’s market dinner started with Fava Bruschetta.

Fava Bruschetta

As many favas as you dare peel

Fresh lemon juice

Good bread

Garlic clove peeled

Olive Oil

Pecorino

Lightly cook the (twice) peeled favas in salted boiling water.  Smash them with the back of a fork or in a food processor adding salt, lemon juice, and olive oil to taste.  Slice bread 1/2 inch thick and brush with olive oil.  Toast (I did mine over a grill) well and while still hot rub garlic clove over bread.  When they have cooled a bit spread generous portion of crushed beans on bread, top with a shaving of pecorino (vegetable peeler across edge) and top with a little olive oil.  I just wish favas weren’t so much work or I would eat this all the time!

Asparagus and Rice Soup with Pancetta

This is one of my favorite soups.  Pretty easy if you have some stock tucked away in the freezer but oh so worth it!  This comes from one of my trusted cookbooks Zuni Cafe.  I wish more bloggers talked about cookbooks they really like as I am always on the lookout.  This one is great if only for the roasted chicken with bread salad recipe.  More on that a different time though.

6 Tbs olive oil

2 c diced onion

1/4 c arborio rice

3 1/2 c chicken stock

8 ounces trimmed asparagus

3 ozs minced pancetta

fresh ground pepper

Heat large saucepan and then add 4 Tbs olive oil.  Sweat onion until translucent and then add rice and continue to cook stirring for a minute or so more.  Add stock and bring to simmer.  Cook for about 20 minutes or until rice is done.  Meanwhile slice the asparagus on a diagonal into 1/8 inch slices.  Heat a skillet and add remaining olive oil then pancetta and asparagus and cook stirring a few times but allowing asparagus and pancetta to color.  Add to soup with pepper (to taste) and serve.

Grilled Salmon

Pull salmon from fridge 30 minutes before cooking and top with salt and pepper and, if you like a little espelette pepper.  Heat grill to hot.  I cook my salmon on foil so I don’t lose anything.  I coat the top with some olive oil and place that down first for a few minutes until it has colored then flip and cook until done.  I use a metal cake thermometer to test doneness.  Slide it in, it should have too much resistance and then quickly place between your lip and nose to feel how warm it is.  It should be warm.  If hot it is probably over done.

Spring Fruit Cobbler

This is adapted from the Ad Hoc cookbook.  Another good addition to your shelf.

Fruit

8 C fruit

1/4 c granulated sugar

2 Tbsp flour

1 Tbsp lemon zest

1/2 tsp vanilla paste

splash cointreau

pinch salt

Mix the above together and place in 11×11 pan.

Cake

1 3/4 c flour

1/2 tsp baking powder

1/2 tsp baking soda

6 Tbsp butter room temperature

3/4 c granulated sugar

2 large eggs

1/2 c buttermilk

pinch salt

Sift dry ingredients together.  Cream butter and sugar in mixer until light and fluffy (you know the drill).  Add eggs one at a time.  Add dry ingredients and buttermilk a bit of each at a time.  Finish by hand and spoon dollops on fruit leaving space in between.  Combine 1 Tbs sugar with 1/4 tsp cinnamon and sprinkle on top.  Bake at 350 for 40 minutes until brown and bubbly covering with foil if it gets too brown.  Enjoy with vanilla ice cream!

6 Comments

Filed under Ad Hoc, Baking, Cooking, Family, Food, Uncategorized

6 responses to “Market Dinner

  1. Wow! Look at how fresh this all looks! Amazing. That bruschetta, oh my.

  2. Yum! I love this market dinner! I would use each one of these recipes for a complete dinner!! Fruit based desserts are always my favorite!

  3. Emily

    It was amazing….how lucky am I to have a husband who can cook like this!

  4. That soup looks fantastic! We’ve had such pretty asparagus at the markets lately, so I might have to put it on my dinner list for next week.

Leave a Reply

