A cook’s job is never done

I am not a morning person.  This is not news to anybody who knows me.  Anybody, except my kids that is.  When I rose Saturday morning the first thing that greeted me was my son asking me to make waffles.  Coffee I said.  Dad needs coffee.  After a few sips I was ready to make some waffles.  My current recipe comes from Cook’s Illustrated’s Best Recipes book.

1 c flour

1/2 tsp kosher salt

1/4 tsp baking soda

1 egg separated

7/8 c buttermilk

2 Tbs melted butter cooled

splash of vanilla extract

First off I typically double or triple this depending on how many little ones I am looking at.  I sift the dry together and whip the egg whites in my copper bowl.  Copper really is magical with egg whites.  The buttermilk can be substituted with 3/4 c milk and 1/2 tsp cream of tartar.  If you do this you might want to add a little of the tartar to the egg whites to help them along.  Add the wet to the dry and carefully fold in the stiff egg whites.  I cook in a deep waffle iron according to it’s settings.  Serve little ones and enjoy the rest of your coffee.

4 Comments

Filed under Cooking, Family, Food

4 responses to “A cook’s job is never done

  1. There really is no substitute for buttermilk.:) Seriously, makes me want to get a waffle iron.

Leave a Reply

