Quivira Sauvignon Blanc

I like white wine.  There I said it.  I know there are those who will look askance at me… the “cult cab connoisseur”… the “bordeaux buff”… but I say they are missing out.  White wine can be just as complex and enjoyable as red.  Tonight’s wine is Quivira’s Sauvignon Blanc.  I picked this up on our drive through Sonoma last weekend and have to say, I am happy I did.

When I first opened the bottled there was a lot of lemongrass, grass, chalk, and minerals on the nose.  With a little bit of time this started to give way to cantaloupe.

This wine is racy on the palate.  It starts with a burst of lemon which yields to acidity, then minerals, before finally leaving a taste of grapefruit lingering for quite while.  It is light but will pair with all sorts of foods especially, I’m hoping, Ad Hoc sauteed Chicken Breast with tarragon, butter sauce.  More on that later.

2 Comments

Filed under Dry Creek, Sauvignon Blanc, Wine, Wine tasting

2 responses to “Quivira Sauvignon Blanc

  1. When my wife and I tasted in Santa Barbara, we asked a guy at a wine shop for some recommendations. He said what do you like. My wife said we like everything dry, sweet, white, red… He looked at her like she was highly uneducated. While we do lean toward certain types of wine, and tend to enjoy more reds, we think you have to keep an open mind, especially tasting. Great write up.

Leave a Reply

