Unintended consequences….

I really had no idea what I was getting myself into as I drove into Yountville and it did not even cross my mind that my experience would leave a lasting effect.  But, of course, it has.

A few short hours in The French Laundry garden has got me working in the garden in a whole new way.  The tomatoes are planted, of course, but seeds have been ordered and my very own micro green press (above) constructed for a whole new summer season.

My time in the bakery has gotten me rolling the Friday night pizza dough in a whole new way but even more importantly, gathering equipment for the bread making.  Stay tuned for more on that.

My time in the kitchen has me approaching cooking with differences a bit too numerous to enumerate in one post but I hope to start expanding on them.


I also came home with a few recipes, some of which have already started to delight.

The thing that I didn’t expect was for the passion and enthusiasm to spill over to other areas of my life.  I think over time we can get a little complacent in our lives.  Experiences can shake things up a bit and put things into a new perspective.  And, of course, Chef Keller’s commitment to excellence and finesse echoes throughout his organization at all levels and you can’t help but come away with it echoing within you.

1 Comment

Filed under Cooking, Food

One response to “Unintended consequences….

  1. Mom

    It makes me happy to know that enthusiasm is spilling over to other parts of your life. Enthusiastically is a good way to live.

Leave a Reply

