Romanesco (aka Alien Cauliflower)

Spectacular heads of cauliflower are in season here in California. I couldn’t pass up this beautiful purple and my favorite, romanesco, which my son calls Alien Cauliflower. One of my favorite ways to prepare it is also one of the simplest: roasting.

Roasted Cauliflower

One head of cauliflower
Olive oil
Salt and Pepper
Butter

Preheat the oven to 425. Wash the cauliflower, core, and separate into bite sized pieces. Toss with olive oil, salt and pepper and roast in a pan. It is best to place them in a pan large enough to hold them in a single layer. Roast 20-30 minutes tossing occasionally until as tender as you desire. Toss with a little butter and check seasoning.

8 Comments

Filed under Cooking, Family, Food

8 responses to “Romanesco (aka Alien Cauliflower)

  1. Looks great and I love cauliflower cooked in this way. Haven’t seen the purple cauliflower before, I have to say.

  2. This is very typical of Rome! By the way, tonight we are having Vellutata di broccolo romano ( cream of romanesco)!

  3. I love those alien cauliflower heads. I have 3 sitting in my refrigerator.

  4. I would expect the purple color to hold a lot better than when it is steamed. Thanks for the idea – your photo makes me want to head to the grocery store!

Leave a Reply

